I hate the new health insurance changes

February 27, 2009 at 1:30 pm (Weathered Days)

Any script that is taken everyday (or close to) needs to be filled via mail order. I can have it filled once every 3 months at a pharmacy but I already did that last month, not knowing it had to be faxed in for now on. Mail order is cheaper by 1/3, but it’s a royal pain in the butt.

My prescriptions were faxed in 4 days ago. (after me waiting too long to get back to the doctor’s office to give them the fax forms) I was already running short on my allergy pills, but since I should receive them in the mail within 5 days of the faxed script, I wasn’t too worried.

I found out today that my entire order had been canceled yesterday. Only one prescription should have been canceled. I wanted the generic version of it, and they were filling it as a name brand. (Extra $55 in savings to go with generic). But instead my WHOLE ORDER WAS CANCELED??? WHAT!?!?!

I should have it in my hands tomorrow anyway, and now we have to start back over.

Then I found out that it actually is 5 days to process the prescriptions and 10 days to get it in the mail! WHAT?!?!

So after a bit of a “this is not your fault, but this is not my screw up either….” they are supposedly mailing them out and I will have them via UPS on Monday. I sure hope so.

Now, when will my  daughter’s asthma medication be shipped out? What do you mean you don’t have an prescription for her? It was faxed in earlier today. UGH! So, here we go again.

This is the only place we can go through and because I don’t want to fork out the extra $150 a month, I will have to deal with this. I am hoping refills are much easier to deal with.

2 Comments

  1. acedanger said,

    The insurance that my wife through her job requires this nonsense as well. It’s nice to have the meds on hand for the next few months but it is a PIA to have to go through the hassle of getting them filled, especially if there is a problem.

    • Jessi said,

      It sure is. Thankfully I don’t have to wait for something like antibiotics, but in the end, the company we dealt with was a pain also.

Leave a comment