gardening days have begun

May 5, 2009 at 8:00 pm (Weathered Days) ()

Jamie tilled up most of the garden area today. I went behind him to rake up some grass & sod clumps and ended wishing I had someone to do that for me. Man, my arms hurt! (yeah, yeah, big baby here) I did get 4 (I think) rows of tomatoes planted. 20 plants in all, I believe.

Tomorrow I need to get out there as soon as I can to get pepper plants in the ground. Then I will sow the corn, green beans, lettuce, eggplant, cucumbers, onions, carrots, cabbage, etc. I also need to put up a fence for the peas. From there….hmmm…I need to get some sweet potatoes. I already have potatoes with eyes, but no sweets.

What am I missing? I have lettuce, spinach, onions, chard, radishes, and cukes growing in my salad tables. I will transplant the cukes when they are ready.

I look forward to seeing it all grow, but more to picking it and eating it!

Leave a comment